Poetry Drug

Poetry isn’t my thing
I’ve never expressed myself well
I always loved to sing
A sound to shatter a bomb shell

I don’t care if it rhymes
And you can’t hear the tune
Tried to appreciate it at times
Only it was too soon

Then I took a new drug
Meant to heal all my ails
And caught a new kind of bug
Writing poetry tales

I started to type
Didn’t have much choice
Began to appreciate the hype
At least now I have a voice

To air my thoughts
Things I wouldn’t have said
Didn’t want to get caught
With all this junk in my head

But someone showed me a way
And along with the drug
I realised it was okay
Using the poetry bug.

©Fry

Leave a Reply

